UI Alumni Association Honours Oyo Senator, Teslim Folarin as Distinguished Alumnus

By Ojo Waheed

The University of Ibadan Alumni Association has honoured Senator Teslim Kolawole Folarin with a Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Folarin who is serving as a senator, representing Oyo central senatorial district and chairman Senate Committee on Local Content, was recognized at the 2021 Alumni lecture held Dr Michael Omolayole Alumni Centre in the University of Ibadan on Friday, September 10, 2021.

Folarin, who was also the guest lecturer spoke on the topic; “Governance and Security in Nigeria” noted that the “challenges of good governance in Nigeria have always been with the Nigerian nation even before independence.”

He added that “the political class have the duty to secure the best of opportunities for the youth in order to make a difference between challenges we have now and the brighter future we division for this nation.”

According to him, “when we put the security of people at the centre of governance, there will be peace and stability, and development will follow.”

Also present at the event were distinguished personalities such as Professor Elsie Adewoye, the worldwide President of University of Ibadan Alumni Association, Hon. Akin Alabi, a member of the House of Representatives, representing Egbeda/Ona-Ara Federal Constituency in Ibadan, Chief Adegboyega Adegoke, the Ajia Balohun of Ibadan and CEO of Channel 8 Premium Hotel in Ibadan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *