NAL Admits UI Acting VC, other Leading Humanistic Scholars into Its College of Fellows

By Wale Olaogun

The Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL) has conferred the award of the Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (FNAL) on the acting vice chancellor of the institution, Prof Adebola Ekanola for his excellent research outputs in the Philosophy, a sub-field of humanities.

This development was made known in a statement released by Prof. Ayobami Kehinde, Secretaty NAL on his Facebook timeline on Thursday, 8th July, 2021.

Five other distinguished scholars in the humanities also received this prestigious award. They include Professors Ahmed Parker Yerima (Theatre Arts), Frank Maduabuchi Dukor (Philosophy), Olayemi Durotimi Akinwumi (History), Lateef Babatunde Ayeleru (French), and Isidore Okeawolam Diala (Literature).

According to the Academy’s secretary, these six fellows “have been admitted into the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy on the basis of their outstanding contributions to scholarship and extension of the frontiers of knowledge in their various subfields of the Humanities.”

The Fellows of the Nigerian Academy of Letters are a group of distinguished scholars of humanities, nominated and elected in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the humanistic scholarship.

Prof. Kehinde also revealed that His Eminence, Most Revered Dr. Matthew Kukah, the Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Sokoto, has been elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Academy.

“Allow me to convey, on behalf of the College of Fellows, the Executive Committee and Members of the Nigerian Academy of Letters, warmest congratulations on your appointments as Fellows of the Nigerian Academy of Letters. Wishing you every success in your new status,” he said.

The Nigerian Academy of Letters is a national academy and apex body of arts and literature in Nigeria. It is an autonomous, scholarly and non-political state institution for advancing scholarship and public interest in the humanities at the highest level in Nigeria. It was established in 1974.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *