Balogun Babatunde

Asundemade Habeebulah, a 400-L student of the Faculty of Law, University of Ibadan, has won the 4th edition of Fisayo Soyombo inter-varsity essay contest, defeating twelve other students from various varsities who were shortlisted alongside him. Habeebulah was announced as the top winner at the Luncheon ceremony organized by the Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan, which took place at Bello Dome, UI, on Saturday, 18th January, 2020, going home with a whooping sum of two hundred thousand Naira plus a plaque and an internship opportunity.

Coming as the second and third place respectively was Ajiboye Damilare and Olaniran Oluwadara, also students of the University of Ibadan who won big as well. “I think I have to give a backdrop,” Habeebulah began in his brief remarks, as he told the audience that this was his second time of contesting in the essay competition of which he won, and that he had asked Mr. Kunle Adebajo, who won the competition in 2016 to give him tips on writing quality essay.

In addition, the luncheon ceremony featured an award category for campus journalists who have distinguished themselves among several others, thereby strengthening the image of the Union of Campus Journalists. Among the winners were Anushiem Chidera (Best story and Investigative story of the year); Oluwatoyin Betterdays (Political writer of the year); Muritala Seun (Senator of the year); Phil Aniemeke(Most industrious male pressman of the year); Badru Lara (Most industrious female pressman of the year); Eric Shodayo (Best creative writer); Oyekanmi Waris (Best Sports writer of the year); Ojegbeje Lolade (Best features writer); Williams Owoeye (Most Promising campus journalist); Dede Anne (Most supportive Editor-in-Chief and Best graduating Editor-in-Chief); Kareem Shamsudeen (Best News writer, Best Satirical piece and Most Outstanding campus journalist of the year). There were awards in several other categories too.

At the tailpiece of the event, the executive council of the 33rd UCJ-UI administration was inaugurated by Mr. John Akinteye, the 31st President of UCJ-UI. The members of the executive council include; Rauf Fasilat (President), Oladeji Gloria (Vice President Administration), Kareem Shamsudeen (Vice President Editorial), Oyekanmi Waris (General Secretary), Adekunle Kawthar (Financial Secretary) and Dada Ibunkun (PROI).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *