The Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan, after several months of wait, has finally unveiled the winners of the inaugural/maiden edition of the Annual ICIR Award for Data/Investigative Journalism.

In a statement made available by the President of the Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan, Mr. Martins Isaac, the following entrants are named as the top 5 participants in the just graded essay competition

  • Alfred Olufemi – Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Solomon Oladipupo – University of Lagos
  • Adejumo Kabir – Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Abiodun Jamiu  – Usman Dan Fodio University
  • Adeyemi Ibrahim – Usman Dan Fodio University

When reached for his statement, the President said, “To begin with, Mr. Dayo Aiyetan deserves a medal for this investment in youths, campus journalists especially and directing their focus to this aspect of journalism which is still trying to spread its tentacles and dominate the media space. By so doing, he is contributing a great deal, not only in the development of youths but also in ensuring accountability in the political and academic space especially.” The president also expresses his hope more people will turn in worthy entry for the second edition.

Also, Mr. Martins appreciates all those who participated in the contest. “Focusing on investigative journalism, the contest demands commitment of time and resources. We cannot but appreciate all the participants for their efforts. Not many were able to enter. Many entered what could best pass as features story. So, to have made the top five cut of the final 12 accepted entries, congratulations!”, he said.

First Prize: #120, 000 + grant for investigation

Second Prize: #80, 000 + grant for investigation

Third Prize: #50, 000 + grant for investigation

The president further stated that the winner of the ICIR Award Contest is going to be announced along with the two runners-up at the Awards ceremony/luncheon which is going to hold on Saturday, January 18th, 2020 at Sultan Bello Dome.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here