JCI Hosts Press Conference, Discloses 2019 FOPA Nominees

JCI Official Logo

At a press conference held on December 20, 2019, at Kenneth Mellanby Hall Junior Common Room, the Junior Chamber International disclosed the nominees for the 2019 edition of the Fifteen Outstanding Persons’ Awards. The list comprised the names of 29 persons who are shortlisted for ten different categories of the prestigious award.

According to the President of the Junior Chamber International, Mr. Mordecai Ogbajei, the 2019 edition of the FOPA Award includes ten undergraduate categories and five Alumni categories. Mr. Ogbajei mentioned that the Alumni categories include Award for Excellence in Public Administration, Award for Excellence in Corporate Governance; Award for Excellence in Information Technology; Award for Media Excellence and Award for Professional Excellence.

The President of the Junior Chamber International disclosed that the organization does not have the names of the nominees for the Alumni categories yet and that they only choose befitting Awardees based on recommendations from the university’s Alumni Association.

For the ten undergraduate categories, the Junior Chamber International released the names of the following persons as nominees:

Most Outstanding Person in Student Leadership
Victor Olanipekun – Faculty of Law
Aderonmu Boluwatife – Faculty of Clinical Sciences
Adeleke John Collosus – Faculty of Social Sciences

Most Outstanding Person in Hall Management
Aquah Christian – Nnamdi Azikwe Hall
Isa Folajimi – Alexander Brown Hall
Olafare Ayotola – Kuti Hall

Most Outstanding Person in Faculty Management
Adeleke John Collosus – Social Sciences
Olusesi Aliu – Education
Joshua Babalola – Economics

Most Outstanding UI Personality
Dibia Ernesto
Martins Isaac
Adeyemo Michael

Most Outstanding Person in Academics
Nwachukwu Emmanuel – Mechanical Engineering
Rufai Baseeroh – Pharmacy
Adebanjo Oluwatosin – Agronomy

Most Outstanding Person in Entertainment
MC Twinkle
Adesunmade Adewale – Wale Rapper
Tobiloba Awomiyi – Tobiland

Most Outstanding Person in Journalism
Anushiem Chidera
Ajiboye Oluwdamilare
Ola Afolasade

Selfless Contribution to a Worthy Course
Adesanya Folajimi – Panacea Project
Gloria Oladeji – GirlChildDevelopment Hub
Samuel Samson Tobiloba – Host

Most Outstanding Person in Entrepreneurship
Stephen Sotonye – Tonye Photography
Victor Ehindero – Pot TV
Omodele Adesuyi – Tishbags

Most Outstanding Person in Sports
Adegboyega Ifeoluwa
Kester Tomiwa
Oyesina Olusegun

The Awards ceremony is scheduled to hold on Friday, January 10th, 2020 at Trenchard Hall, Mr. Ogbajei stated. “It is going to be a black-tie event and you can expect everything that accompanies a black-tie event to be provided for”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here