Students Organization Hosts Inter-School Essay Competition

By Gift Nwaozor

On Wednesday, 13th of November 2019, History for National Builders Initiative organized an inter-school essay competition in honor of Professor Rasheed Olaniyi, a Professor of Economics and African History, at the Center for Peace and Strategic studies, University of Ibadan.

Participating in the inter-secondary school competition were: Lagelu Grammar School, Loyola College, Adventist Heritage Academy, The Apostolic Church Model College, Abadina College, Abadina Grammar School, and Maverick college which took part in the preliminaries, but was absent at the finale. The International School University of Ibadan was also present, while two other schools which were invited failed to show up.

Representatives of these schools explicitly gave lucid explanation on the importance and impact of the knowledge of history to the nation.

As expected, each contestant earnestly strove to capture the interest of the audience with their presentations and appeal to the judges’ sense of judgement. But, eventually, the competition came to an end with Abadina Grammar School emerging as the winner, while the International School University of Ibadan and The Apostolic Church college emerged first and second runners up respectively. Representatives of the three top schools in the event were given cash prizes which were strictly for the students as well as history textbooks, authored by the Honouree.

Due to the misconceptions observed in the course of the presentation, a teacher from one of the competing schools stated that “since history is a very sensitive discipline, it should be taught by professional historians, to avoid misconceptions like this in the future”.

Also speaking at the event was the Head of Station of Impact African Television, Mr. Kay Ode Adegbile, who commended the organizers of the event, saying that such events as this would help keep alive the spirit of patriotism in ‘youngsters’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *