LASU beats UI Pioneers to qualify for HIFL 2019

By Adisa Habeeb and Afolabi Oluwaseun

University of Ibadan football team, UI Pioneers, has failed to qualify for the 2019 edition of the Higher Institutions Football League tournament.

UI Pioneers fell to a disappointing 0-1 defeat to LASU at OAU Sports Complex, Ile Ife.

Things looked all rosy and good for the team after they kickstarted their qualifying round campaign in fashion, whipping the boys from Ijebu, OOU 3-1 in OAU. However, this was to be followed by a shocking 2-Nil defeat to Adekunle Ajasin University, Akure (AAUA) following strikes from either half of the match.

The Lagos side came into the match knowing fully well that a victory will make them qualify for the Round of 32, having amass all maximum points from their previous matches against AAUA and OOU. And the lads got the job done with a second half strike.

The defeat means UI Pioneers finished the round with 3 points, losing two out of three matches.

It could be recalled that UI Pioneers were dumped out of the maiden season of the HiFL last year by OAU Giants with a 6-3 aggregate at the round of 32.

Players who represented the premier University of Ibadan includes, AKP, Wilson, Yemi, Kester, Julius, Rotimi, Segun, Bolu, Mufasa, Dipo, Folarin and Bosun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *