According to the Independent National Electoral Commission’s calendar, March 2nd 2019 is scheduled for the governorship election and that of State House of Assembly. Oyo state has been known for a tense political atmosphere with political godfathers dictating the political affairs of their different parties and testing of their political weight.

Although, the primaries conducted to choose each political parties’ flag bearer was trailed by severe intra party crisis such as the party cross carpeting done by some less fortunate candidates across the country, the political battle line has been drawn in the pace setter state with parties now having their gubernatorial candidates.

In Oyo State for instance, notable of such political party cross carpeting was that of Otunba Alao Akala who fell apart with the APC chieftains and left the party for another party (ADP) to secure the governorship ticket. Also, Senator Rashid Ladoja as usual, migrated from ADC to ZLP. There are so many questions concerning who the next Governor will be considering the political moves taken by some politicians.

Interestingly, despite the intra party crisis that engulfed most of the major political parties in the state, there are thirty-four male aspirants and three females aspirants — summing up to thirty seven candidates — are battling to replace governor Ajimobi after his eight years stay at the Agodi Governor’s house. However, out of these thirty-seven candidates, there are men and there are boys; meaning there are the main contenders and the underdogs.

Speaking of the main contenders, they are Chief Adebayo Adelabu of the APC, Engr. Seyi Makinde of the PDP, Otunba Alao Akala of ADP, Saheed Ajadi of the Accord Party, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin of the ADC. All these handpicked five political men will wrestle the other thirty-two political boys and out of them all, only one will emerge the governor of the state.

Now that the battle line has been drawn, we have been seeing different candidates with different blueprints for the state. The question thus is “should the citizens of Oyo state vote based on personality and the material things these candidates bring or vote based on the blueprint the candidates presents?” Who should the people of Oyo vote for? Should they allow Alao from AD? Should they vote for the candidate who wants to continue with the Ajimobi legacy? Should they allow Oluseyi Makinde to do the things he promised? After the eight years rule of governor Abiola Ajimobi, who should they vote for?

For a better Oyo state, we need a man with positive agenda to saddle the affairs of the state. Therefore, it is pertinent that voters should look before they leap, for the goodies will finish. Voting rightly will secure a better future that generations to come will meet. Oyo Decides 2019, Our vote is too expensive to be sold.

*The following are the names of gubernatorial candidates in the upcoming Oyo state election*

1. AAC – Akinwale Laosun

2. AAP – Rev. Adenike Morenikeji Victor-Tade

3. ACCORD – Saheed Adegboyega Ajadi

4. AD – Oyedele (Hakeem) Oyebode Alao

5. ADC – Olufemi Lanlehin

6. ADP – Cristopher Adebayo Alao Akala

7. AGA – David Oluwafemi Okunlola

8. ANN – Olabode Ayodele Johnson

9. APA – Adedoyin Tolulope Adeyeye

10. APC – Adebayo Adelabu

11. BNPP – Oladuni Ariyo Olaitan

12. C4C – Omotosho Paul Adeboye

13. DA – Adegboyega Adelu

14. DPC – Babatunde Oye Ademola

15. DPP – Omoteleola Folake Florence

16. GDPN – Ladipo Oluwole

17.HDP – Tijani Ismail Akinboye

18. ID – Chief Oladapo Wasiu Atilola

19. JMPP – Ademola Babatunde Oye

20. KOWA – Olaide Olayiwola

21. LABOUR – Olatunji Adigun Sadiq

22. MAJA – Aderoju Ismail Balogun

23. MPN – Ojo Olayinka Kayode

24. NAC – Moshood Odelalu

25. NCP – Oloyade Michael Ayobami

26. NIP – Sarumi-Aliyu Bolanle Ashabi

27. NPM – Edward Olufeyisayo Ladoye

28. NRM – Yinusa Kazeem Ayandoye

29. PDC – Akande akin Sanyaolu

30. PDP – Seyi Makinde

31. PPC – Taiwo Ibiyemi Otegbeye

32. PPN – Gbadamosi Basiru Alagbe

33. SDP – Mobolaji Ayorinde

34. SNC – Awolusi Olusegun Gaskin

35. SPN – Bamigboye Abiodun Emman

36. UPP – Rotimi Akande

37. ZLP – Waheed A. Akanbi.

Thirty- seven candidate but only one winner will emerge, let us sit back as the question of who will succeed governor Ajimobi will be answered soon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here