By: Yemi Alesh

The 2017/2018 administration of the Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan, which is the 31st administration of the Union has initiated the Veteran Journalist Award. The award was initiated to recognize the contributions of outstanding campus journalists who have distinguished themselves over the years of their stay on campus, with their works.

In a bid to determine members of the Union of Campus Journalists deserving of the Veteran Journalist Award, the Guild of Editors, under the chairmanship of Mr. Martins Isaac (who is now the 32nd president of UCJ UI) set up a panel to research and analyze members of the Union.

To make the selection fair, the Guild agreed on some criteria which includes: a recipient must have joined atleast in his second year; must have been a prolific writer with publications bothering on investigations, satire, news reporting, features and politics; must have published at least twice on the Union’s website, must have spent over 2years and must have an average CGPA amongst others. A panel was set up to look into this and submit the names of winners. The panel, consisting of four members, namely: Owoyokun Dolapo, Atanda Abdulrahman (Editor in Chief, Larissa press) , Awogun Aminat (incoming Editor in Chief, Idia press) and Ajayi-Obe Oluwatobiloba (Editor in Chief, Political Science Press) was headed by Mr. Owoyokun Dolapo, the incoming Editor-in-Chief of Mellanby Hall Press Organization.

Explaining the peculiarities of the Veteran Journalist Award, Mr. Owoyokun Dolapo stated that unlike other awards which consider the contributions of journalists over a specific year, “this award considers their whole experiences in years.”

After surviving the rigorous screening of the panel, four out of six notable pressmen who were nominated for the award have been conferred with the prestigious honour. Mr. Oredola Ibrahim (2016 UCJ UI president) who was present at the event – having given a background to the rationale behind the award and the justification for each of the awardees – presented Ms. Aishat Babatunde, Editor-in-Chief of Awo press organization, Mr. Yusuf Akinpelu, Editor-in-Chief of Tedder Press Organisation, Mr. Olopade Owluwasegunfunmilola, the Editor-in-Chief of Indy Press Organization and Mr. Olusanya Martins Isaac, the outgone Editor-in-Chief of Union of Campus Journalists and new president of the Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan with the certificate of elevation.

Martins et Olopade
Babatunde (Martins) Akinpelu

Henceforth, the aforementioned are to be regarded no more as campus journalists but VETERAN JOURNALISTS in any gathering of the press.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *